What Counts as "One Video" on an AI Video Pricing Page?
"50 videos a month" and "10 videos a month" can buy the same amount of footage. AI video pricing pages count in units they define themselves, and the unit is rarely the same thing twice: a five-second clip on one tool, a 15-second ad on another, a talking-actor minute, rounded up, on a third. Before you compare plans, convert every "video" into seconds of finished footage at the resolution you'd actually post. Then the numbers mean something.
This guide shows the three things hiding inside the word "video", what the main tools count as one, and how to put any plan into the same unit in about a minute.
The three variables inside "one video"
Every per-video number on a pricing page is a product of three choices the vendor made for you:
- Length. How many seconds one unit produces. Short-form ad creative usually runs 9 to 30 seconds; many tools define a unit as a clip of 4 to 10 seconds.
- Resolution. The same seconds cost very different amounts at 480p and 1080p. A count quoted at the lowest tier is not what you get at the tier you'd post.
- Rounding. Whether a 12-second ad is charged as 12 seconds, as one fixed-length clip, or as a full minute.
Change any of the three and the count changes, while the amount of usable video you can post stays the same.
What each tool counts as one video
Here is what the main tools' own pricing and help pages count as a unit, read on September 25, 2026. Pricing pages change often, so treat this as a snapshot and check the live page before you buy.
| Tool | What one unit is | Resolution the count assumes | How length is billed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pika | a 5-second clip | 720p in the plan's own counts | a fixed charge per clip |
| Hailuo (MiniMax) | a 6-second clip on Hailuo 2.x (10-second clips from the Pro plan up); H3 is sold by the second | 768p by default | per clip on 2.x, per second on H3 |
| Higgsfield | plan cards count 5-second 720p clips; the comparison table counts per year, not per month | 720p on the cards | credits per clip |
| Arcads | an actor-minute for talking-actor videos (prices are shown only after you sign up) | not stated | rounded up to the full minute, so a 15-second ad costs the same as a 60-second one |
| Kling | seconds, in clips of 3 to 15 seconds | 720p in the quoted rate; native audio costs more | per second |
| Runway | plan cards state seconds; the comparison table's "videos" are per year | varies by model | credits per clip (4 or 5 seconds, by model) |
| Hypit | "videos" per plan; the pricing page doesn't state their length | not stated on the pricing page | credits per second, by model |
| Riffkit | one finished 15-second video | 720p on Seedance, 768P on MiniMax H3, never 480p | per second, so 9 seconds bills 9 |
Two patterns stand out. Four of these tools count a clip of about 5 seconds (4 to 6), so one 15-second ad takes about three of them. And two comparison tables (Higgsfield's and Runway's) count videos per year, so check the period before you set them against a monthly price. Where a resolution is stated it is usually 720p; posting at a higher resolution usually costs more.
How to convert any plan
Pick your real format first: how long your ads run, and the resolution you'd post. Then:
1. Seconds the plan buys at your resolution ÷ your ad length = ads a month.
2. Plan price ÷ ads a month = cost per ad.
If a tool's unit is shorter than your ad, you need several units per ad, so divide its count accordingly. If it rounds up, charge every ad at the rounded length. If the count on the page assumes the lowest resolution, redo it at yours. Now two plans are in the same unit and you can compare them.
A worked example with made-up numbers. A plan says "60 videos a month" and each video is a 5-second clip at 720p. That is 300 seconds of footage, which makes 20 fifteen-second ads, not 60. A second plan says "10 videos a month" of 15 seconds each at 720p: that is 150 seconds, 10 ads. On the page the first plan looks six times bigger; in 15-second ads at 720p it is twice as big. If you post at 1080p, redo both at 1080p before comparing: when a 1080p clip costs twice the credits, each plan's count halves.
Do this for the two or three plans you are actually choosing between, at your length and your resolution, and write the result down as cost per ad. That one number is what you are comparing.
What that gives on Riffkit
We count one video as one finished 15-second video, and bill per second at the engine's rate: a 9-second riff bills 9 seconds, a 30-second riff about two videos' worth. It's a way to count, not a length cap.
| Plan | Price | 15-second videos a month | Per 15 seconds of video |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo | $39/mo | 3 on Seedance 2.0 720p · 9 on MiniMax H3 | about $10.83 · $4.33 |
| Starter | $99/mo | 10 · 25 | about $9.90 · $3.96 |
| Daily | $279/mo | 30 · 75 | about $9.30 · $3.72 |
| Pro | $799/mo | 100 · 250 | about $7.99 · $3.20 |
Yearly billing lowers each of those. Counts round down to whole videos, while the last column uses the exact seconds: Solo buys 54 seconds on Seedance 2.0, 3.6 videos' worth. The counts assume 720p on Seedance and 768P on H3; 480p is there for drafts.
To be plain about where this lands: on the same engine, per second, Riffkit often costs more than buying generations directly. The conversion above is meant to let you see that clearly, not to hide it. What the extra buys is the way of working: you start from a winning short video (a TikTok link or an upload), the structure is rebuilt around your product in minutes, and nothing needs setting up. Whether that's worth it depends on how you make videos, which is a separate question from how many seconds a plan buys.
What the conversion still doesn't capture
Seconds per dollar is the right first cut, and three things sit on top of it:
- Takes you throw away. Rules for failed generations differ, so check each one (Hailuo's FAQ says they are not charged). On Riffkit a run that produces no video costs nothing, and if a longer video fails partway only the seconds already rendered are billed. Everything that renders is billed, whether you post it or not.
- Extra aspect ratios. A second ratio of the same video is another render, and on Riffkit it is billed at a higher per-second rate than the first (on Seedance 2.0 at 720p, 120 credits a second where a new render is 100, so a 15-second extra ratio costs as much as 18 seconds of new video). Count it in the budget if you post to more than one placement.
- Rights. Check whether commercial and paid-ad use is included. On Riffkit you can use what you make commercially, including in ads.
A two-minute checklist
- Find the seconds per unit. If it isn't stated, look at the generation screen or ask support.
- Find the resolution the count assumes.
- Find the rounding rule and whether failed takes cost credits.
- Convert to your ad length and your resolution.
- Only then compare plans.
If rounding is the part you're unsure about, what Arcads' pricing actually means for short ads walks through a minute-rounded example. If you're ready to see a plan in your own units, the pricing page lists every engine's per-second rate, or you can start with a winning template.
FAQ
What counts as one video on an AI video generator's pricing page?
Each tool defines it on its own pricing page. As of September 2026, Pika and Higgsfield count a 5-second 720p clip, Hailuo counts a 6-second clip on its 2.x models, Runway's plan cards state seconds, Arcads bills talking-actor videos per minute with length rounded up, and Riffkit counts one finished 15-second video as its unit while billing per second. So "N videos a month" is only comparable once you convert it into seconds of finished video at the resolution you would post.
How do I compare AI video plans that count videos differently?
Convert every plan into the same unit: seconds of finished video at the resolution you would actually post. Then divide the plan price by how many of your ads those seconds make. If a tool's unit is shorter than your ad, one ad uses several units; if it rounds length up, charge each ad at the rounded length; if its count assumes a lower resolution than yours, redo the math at your resolution.
Why do some AI video plans show many more videos for the same price?
Usually because each "video" is shorter. A plan that counts 5-second clips shows about three times as many videos as one that counts 15-second videos for the same footage. Some comparison tables also count videos per year, so check the period before comparing with a monthly price. None of that changes how much usable video you can post; it only changes the number on the page.
Does Arcads round video length up to a full minute?
According to Arcads' own help center (updated April 2026), talking-actor videos are billed per actor-minute, and the length is always rounded up. That means a 15-second ad uses the same credits as a 60-second one. Arcads does not publish plan prices publicly; they are shown after you create an account.
How many 15-second videos does a Riffkit plan make?
Per month on monthly billing: Solo ($39) makes 3 on Seedance 2.0 at 720p or 9 on MiniMax H3; Starter ($99) makes 10 or 25; Daily ($279) makes 30 or 75; Pro ($799) makes 100 or 250. Counts assume 720p on Seedance and 768P on H3, not 480p. Billing is per second, so shorter videos use less and a 30-second video uses about two videos' worth.
If my video is shorter than 15 seconds, does it still count as a whole video?
Not on Riffkit. The 15-second video is a way to count what a plan buys, not a charge per video: billing is per second at the engine's rate, so a 9-second riff bills 9 seconds. On tools that charge per fixed-length clip or round up to a minute, a shorter video can cost the same as a longer one, so check the rounding rule before you compare.
Do failed AI video generations cost credits?
It varies by tool, so check before you buy. Hailuo's FAQ says failed generations are not charged. On Riffkit, a run that produces no video costs nothing, and if a longer video fails partway only the seconds already rendered are billed. Takes that render successfully are billed, whether or not you post them.
Keep reading
Higgsfield Genjutsu Alternative: Other Ways to Reshoot a Video (2026)
Looking for a Higgsfield Genjutsu alternative? What Genjutsu does well, how face swap and character swap and full reshoots actually differ, and when remaking the shot in your own pipeline fits better.
Hypit Alternative: A Hosted Way to Remake Winning Videos (2026)
Looking for a Hypit alternative? What Hypit does best, where it asks a lot of you, and when a hosted tool that remakes any winning video is the better fit.
Black Friday Ad Creative: The Bottleneck Is Variants, Not Budget
Budgets multiply into Black Friday and every creative fatigues faster. What runs short is variants, and September to October is when to make them.